Navigate

CCLL Spring 2014 Offerings

CCLL 
Spring Offerings

The Carolina College for Lifelong Learning (CCLL) offers new programs each spring and fall about topics including the arts, sciences and current events. Questions about CCLL? Please contact South Moore ’15 at (919) 843- 0790 or ccll@unc.edu.

Spring 2014 brochure coming soon.

Please use the following address when using a GPS or online mapping tool to secure directions:
George Watts Hill Alumni Center, 106 Stadium Drive, Chapel Hill 27514

Visit our Dinner with Faculty page – Civil War page Burnett Seminar page


Upcoming Events
Monday, Jan. 13 | Founding Fathers of the Confederacy – the Cabinet of Jefferson Davis
Monday, Jan. 27 |  North Carolina’s Piedmont during the Civil War
Friday, Jan. 31
| An Evening at PlayMakers – Private Lives 


View classes by category:

Special Programming

An Evening at PlayMakers: Private Lives
Friday, Jan. 31 | 6pm
Location: Playmakers Repertory Company
Cost (includes reception): $58; GAA members pay only $38 
Register online.

Join the artistic staff for a pre-show conversation and insights about Noel Coward’s Private Lives. Hors d’oeuvres and drinks will be served. Pre-show reception begins at 6 p.m.; curtain call is 7:30 p.m.

Consider This… Fracking, the Environment and our Energy Future
Thursday, May 15 | 6-8 p.m.
Location: The Carolina Club, George Watts Hill Alumni Center

Your GAA hopes to enable our community to gain a greater understanding about issues that have the potential to impact our state and nation through Consider This… events. For questions regarding this program, please contact Ann-Louise Aguiar ’76 at (919) 962-3574 or ann- louise_aguiar@unc.edu.

Dinner with Faculty – please call to register (919) 843-0790

For full bios and registration information, visit our Dinner with Faculty page.
To register, please contact South Moore ’15 at (919) 843-0790 or  ccll@unc.edu

Thursday, Feb. 13 | Lloyd Kramer, professor of history
Thursday, Mar. 20 | Malinda Lowery ’02 (MA), ’05 (PhD), director, Southern Oral History Program; associate professor of history; director, Honors Progam
Thursday, April 17 | Pamela Conover, Burton Craige Professor of Political Science
Thursday, May 1 | Reid Barbour ’82, professor of English and comparative literature

Lunch with Faculty
Wednesday, Mar. 26 | Noon | Michael Hunt, Everett H. Emerson Professor of History Emeritus

Reunion Weekend

Reunion Weekend Events May 9-10
Cost:  $18 per session; GAA members pay only $8 per session

Where Do We Go From Here?  Enhancing Life in Retirement
Friday, May 9 | 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Location:         George Watts Hill Alumni Center
Lecturers:        Jan Busby-Whitehead, director, UNC Center for Aging and Health
                              Catherine Frank ’79, (’82 MA, ’00 PhD), executive director, UNC-Asheville OLLI

Dean Smith’s Legacy
Friday, May 9 | 1:45 – 2:45 p.m.   
Location:         The Blue Zone, Kenan Stadium
Lecturers:        Woody Durham ’63
                               Fred Kiger ’74, (’77 MAT)
                               Phil Ford ’78
                               Eric Montross ’94   

How Chancellor Aycock and President Friday Shaped the Course for Today’s University
Friday, May 9 | 3 – 4 p.m.
Location:         The Blue Zone, Kenan Stadium
Lecturers:        John Charles Boger, Dean of UNC School of Law
                              Steven Alan Channing ’68 (PhD), co-founder and president of Southern Documentary Fund
                              The Honorable Willis Padgett Whichard ’62 (’65 LLB) 

From UNC to the White House, Brussels and Beyond
Friday, May 9 | 4:15 – 5:15 p.m.
Location:         The Blue Zone, Kenan Stadium
Lecturer:          Stuart E. Eizenstat ’64

Media and Politics on Campus 1960-64 During Tumultuous Times: The Speaker Ban, Civil Rights and Desegregation
Saturday, May 10 | 10:30 – 11:45 a.m.
Location:  Murphey Hall
Lecturers:        Gary Blanchard ’64 – former DTH editor
                               Mickey Blackwell ’64 – former DTH reporter
                               Karen Parker ’65 – journalist (N.C. Journalism Hall of Fame)
                               James Wallace ’64  – former DTH photographer

Music of the Early 60s (1960-64)
Saturday, May 10 | 2 – 3 p.m.
Location:         George Watts Hill Alumni Center
Lecturer:          John Brackett ’99 (MA), (’03 PhD)

Civil War Programs – Register online.

The GAA’s popular American Civil War Series presents a variety of Civil War classes. You may choose however many classes you’d like to attend. Each class will be held in the George Watts Hill Alumni Center’s Royall Room from 7-9 p.m. unless otherwise notated. Vsit our Civil War page for more details.

Monday, Jan. 13 | Founding Fathers of the Confederacy – the Cabinet of Jefferson Davis
Monday, Jan. 27 | North Carolina’s Piedmont during the Civil War
Monday, Feb. 17 | The Hunley
Monday, Mar. 10 | Abraham Lincoln as Commander-in-Chief
Thursday, Mar. 20 | Overview for Events from Spring and Summer 1864
Thursday, April 10 | The Union Home Front
Thursday April 17 | The CSS Albemarle and Battle of Plymouth
Thursday, April 24 | The Confederate Home Front
Tuesday, May 6 | Lee and Grant: The Battle of the Wilderness
Tuesday, May 13 | Lee and Grant: Spotsylvania Court House and the North Anna
Tuesday, May 20 | James Ewell Brown Stuart
Tuesday, June 3 | Lee and Grant: Cold Harbor and Petersburg
Tuesday, June 10 | Nathan Bedford Forrest
Thursday, June 19 | Confederate Commerce Raiders
Wednesday, July 30 | The Battle of the Crater

Field-Study Trip

Lee versus Grant – The Overland Campaign, featuring the Battle of the Wilderness and Spotsylvania Court House
Friday – Sunday, May 2-4
Cost: $570 per person based on double occupancy; GAA members pay only $540
Add $110 for single room accommodations


Burnett Seminar

Timothy B. and Jane A. Burnett Seminar for Academic Achievement
Tuesday, Nov. 19 | 1:00 – 4:30 p.m. Looking Forward, Living Now
George Watts Hill Alumni Center – Free and open to the public.
Watch the seminar on UNC’s Learning Center YouTube Channel. 
Visit the Burnett Seminar page.


Program in the Humanities
The General Alumni Association and the Program in the Humanities continue to co-sponsor the Spotlight on Scholars and Humanities in Action lectures held at Flyleaf Books. Special discounts are offered for GAA members for both lecture series as well as for the Adventures in Ideas weekend seminars.  Visit humanities.unc.edu or call 919-962-1544 for details and registration.

SPOTLIGHT ON SCHOLARS

Tuesday, Feb. 18 | Slavery and UNC – Tim McMillan, African and African-American studies
Tuesday, Feb. 25 | The Oscars – Dana Coen and Scott Myers, communication studies
Tuesday, March 4 | Transformative Experiences – L.A. Paul, philosophy
Tuesday, March 18 |  British Writers on WWI – Marcus Bull, history

HUMANITIES IN ACTION

Wednesday, March 19 | Evangelicals in Israel – Yaakov Ariel, religious studies
Wednesday, March 26 | Rise of the Christian Right – Molly Worthen, history
Wednesday, April 9 | Muslim Women in America – Juliane Hammer, religious studies
Wednesday, April 16 | Prosperity Gospel – Kate Bowler, Duke University 
Wednesday, April 23 | Atheism – Walter Sinnott-Armstrong, Duke University

ADVENTURES IN IDEAS

Friday, Feb. 7 – Saturday, Feb. 8 | How Jesus Became God | Featuring Bart D. Ehrman
Saturday, Feb. 15 |Comparative Empires in the Pre-Modern World
Saturday, Feb. 22 | Privacy and Politics in the Age of Big Data
Friday, Feb. 28 – Saturday, March 1| The Great War, The Richard Soloway Seminar
Friday, March 28 | Haiti: History of Hope and Hardship
Saturday, April 5  | Global Health, Local Culture: Caring for Communities in Context
Saturday, April 12 | Diaries, Dreams and Desires:  Jewish Private Life, The Uhlman Family Seminar
Friday, April 25 – Saturday, April 26 | Reflecting on Japanese Internment, Featuring PlayMakers production of “Hold These Truths”
Saturday, May 3 | Soviet Union During World War II, Featuring Gerhard L. Weinberg

 

GAA member discounts apply to all Spotlight on Scholars and Humanities in Action classes. For more information, and to register, please visit humanities.unc.edu or call 919-962-1544