Cochrane Elected Chair of Board of Trustees

UNC Board of Trustees members are sworn in

UNC Board of Trustees members are sworn in July 27, 2017. (UNC photo by Jon Gardiner ’98)

Haywood D. Cochrane Jr. ’70 of Elon has been elected chair of the Board of Trustees. Cochrane, former chair of the board of directors of DARA Biosciences Inc., began his service on the board in 2013 and was reappointed to a four-year term.



The trustees in their July meeting also elected two current members as new officers for one-year terms on the 13-member board. Charles G. Duckett ’82 of Winston-Salem was elected vice chair, and William A. Keyes IV ’75 of Washington, D.C., was elected secretary. Duckett was reappointed to a second four-year term; Keyes begins the third of a four-year term.

Richard Y. Stevens ’70 (’74 MPA, ’74 JD), a lawyer from Cary, was newly elected to a four-year term on the board. Stevens was a trustee from 1995 to 2003, and he was the board’s chair from 1997 to 1999.

Jeff W. Brown ’81 of Charlotte, Kelly Matthews Hopkins ’95 of Charlotte and outgoing chair Dwight D. Stone ’73 of Greensboro were reappointed to second four-year terms.

Julia Sprunt Grumbles ’75 of Chapel Hill, Allie Ray McCullen ’67 of Clinton, Ed McMahan ’66 of Charlotte and Hari Nath of Cary are in the middle of four-year terms that end in 2019.

Former board chair Lowry Caudill ’79 of Durham is midway through a second four-year term.

Elizabeth M. Adkins of Fayetteville, student body president, joins the board for one year as a non-voting member.

Donald Curtis ’63 of Raleigh retired from the board after eight years.

Cochrane began his career in banking and moved into health care. He helped rebuild and grow a number of public and private companies with the support of venture capital and private equity partners. He was a Morehead Scholar, a North Carolina Fellow and secretary of Phi Beta Kappa. He has held a number of senior management and executive positions at companies including Allied Clinical Laboratories Inc., Roche Biomedical Laboratories Inc., National Health Laboratories Inc., Laboratory Corp. of America Holdings and CHD Meridian Corporate Healthcare Inc.

Curtis, McMahan and Stevens are former members of the GAA Board of Directors, and Curtis and Stevens chaired the board.


Share via: