GAA Installs New Officers and Board Members

Robyn Hadley.

Robyn S. Hadley ’85

Robyn S. Hadley ’85 of Graham has taken office as chair of the GAA Board of Directors, succeeding Eric S. Montross ’94 of Chapel Hill. Vaughn D. Bryson ’60 of Vero Beach, Fla., is the new chair-elect.

Hadley, who was named a Rhodes Scholar in 1985, is executive director of the “What’s After High School?” program for the Burlington-Alamance school system and founder of the YESICAN nonprofit to help students prepare for college. She has been active with the Black Alumni Reunion and is a recipient of its Harvey E. Beech Outstanding Alumni Award. She also is a founding member of BAR’s Light on the Hill Society, chairs the selection committee for the Light on the Hill Society Scholarship and served on the UNC Board of Visitors (1989-93). Hadley, who was previously appointed to a three-year at-large term, was chosen last year as chair-elect by the GAA board.

Bryson, who retired from a career as an executive in the pharmaceuticals industry, received the GAA’s Distinguished Service Medal in 2004 and the University’s William Richardson Davie Award in 2008. He played baseball at UNC and previously served on the GAA board as a representative to the University’s Athletic Council (2008-11).

As a result of elections decided by Carolina Alumni members, Dan Allen Myers ’71 of Kinston is the board’s new vice chair, and Jack Betts ’68 of Meadows of Dan, Va., is the new second vice chair.

Myers, who also received a medical degree from UNC in 1975, is president of Sonorex Inc. He served on the GAA board from 2007 to 2010 and was chair of its Membership Committee. He also  has served on the UNC Board of Visitors (2000-04).

Betts, retired associate editor of The Charlotte Observer, has served on the GAA board as an N.C. district representative (2010-13) and as a constituent representative for journalism and mass communication (1995-98). He has served on the School of Journalism and Mass Communication’s board of visitors and as president of the UNC Journalism Alumni and Friends Association.

New directors elected to three-year terms representing N.C. districts:

Jill Silverstein Gammon.

Jill Silverstein Gammon ’70

Jill Silverstein Gammon ’70 of Raleigh, to the district for Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Johnston, Vance, Wake and Warren counties. Gammon, a health and wellness coach with HealthReach Partners, also earned a master’s of social work at UNC in 1972,  has received the School of Social Work’s Champion’s Award for Voluntarism and has served as vice chair of the school’s board of advisers. She has served on the UNC Board of Visitors (2005-09).


Ann Barwick Whichard.

Ann Barwick Whichard ’79

Ann Barwick Whichard ’79 of Greenville, to the district for Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Sampson, Tyrell, Washington, Wayne and Wilson counties. Whichard, a community volunteer, has served on the Carolina Women’s Leadership Council.


David Keesler.

David C. Keesler ’84

David C. Keesler ’84 of Charlotte, to the district for Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Rutherford and Union counties. Keesler is a U.S. magistrate judge for the U.S. District Court for the Western District of North Carolina.

Carl Fox.

Carl Raynard Fox ’75

Carl Raynard Fox ’75 of Chapel Hill, to the district for Orange County. Fox, who also received a law degree from UNC in 1978, is senior resident Superior Court judge for District 15B. He has served on the UNC Board of Visitors (1998-2002).

New directors elected to three-year terms representing out-of-state alumni:

Keith O. Cowan.

Keith O. Cowan ’78

Keith O. Cowan ’78 of Atlanta, to the district for Alabama and Georgia. Cowan, president of strategic planning and corporate initiatives for Sprint Nextel Corp., is chair of the board of the Morehead-Cain Scholarship Fund and a member of the UNC Board of Visitors.




Travis Tygart.

Travis T. Tygart ’93

Travis T. Tygart ’93 of Colorado Springs, Colo., to the district for Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming. Tygart, chief executive officer of the U.S. Anti-Doping Agency, received the GAA’s Distinguished Young Alumni Award in 2011.



Rebecca Michels Halloran.

Rebecca Michels Halloran ’97

Rebecca Michels “Becky” Halloran ’97 of Chicago, to the district for Florida, Illinois and Indiana. Halloran is associate director of career-management events at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. She has served as philanthropy coordinator and co-president of the Richmond, Va., Carolina Club, and as co-president of the Chicago Carolina Club, where she is special projects coordinator.



Appointed as at-large directors:

Dana Edward Simpson.

Dana Edward Simpson ’96

Dana Edward Simpson ’96 of Raleigh, for a three-year term. Simpson, who also received a law degree from UNC in 2000, is a partner with the Smith Anderson law firm. He has served on the UNC Board of Visitors (2009-13).




Teresa Holland Williams.

Teresa Holland Williams ’77

Teresa Holland Williams ’77 of Huntersville, for a three-year term. Williams has served on the UNC Board of Visitors (2000-04) and was a founding member of the GAA’s Black Alumni Reunion Light on the Hill Society. She served on the chancellor’s advisory committee during planning for the Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History. She has served on the GAA board since 2011.



New director elected to a three-year term on UNC’s Athletic Council:

Douglas Clyde Paschal.

Douglas Clyde Paschal ’80

Douglas Clyde Paschal ’80 of Charlotte. Paschal, who played football at UNC and professionally for the Minnesota Vikings, is vice president and general manager of CBS Collegiate Sports.





Appointed as new faculty representative:

John Sweeney.

John Sweeney ’86

John Sweeney ’86 (MEd) of Chapel Hill is a Distinguished Professor in sports communication in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, where he heads the advertising sequence and is director of the sports communication program.




Student representatives joining the board as ex-officio members for 2013-14 are:

  • Christopher David Lambden, senior, president of the student body.
  • Georgia Katherine Walker, president of the senior class.
  • Nicole Jordan Comparato, senior, editor of The Daily Tar Heel.
  • Brittany Ann Reeves, senior, president of the Order of The Bell Tower.

The board reappointed William P. Aycock II ’65 of Greensboro as counsel to the board, Anthony Eden Rand ’61 of Fayetteville as treasurer and Dwight M. “Davy” Davidson III ’77 of Greensboro as assistant treasurer.

More online…

Share via: