Hettleman Prizes Go to Four Faculty

Four University faculty members have been awarded the 2004 Phillip and Ruth Hettleman Prizes for Artistic and Scholarly Achievement by Young Faculty.

This year’s awards, which carry a $5,000 stipend, go to:

  • Derek Goldman, an assistant professor of performance studies in the department of communication studies since 2001. Goldman has received more than 30 grants and fellowships for research and creative activity in the past 12 years.
  • Matthew Redinbo of the chemistry department and the medical school’s biochemistry and biophysics departments. In less than five years at UNC, Redinbo has published 11 research papers and four review articles, with another two research papers submitted and currently in review.
  • Nicola Terrenato, an assistant professor of classics since 1998 who is serving a three-year appointment as director of the summer program in archaeology of American Academy in Rome.
  • Yi Zhang of biochemistry and biophysics. Since arriving at Carolina in 1999, Zhang has received several prestigious awards, including the Sidney Kimmel Foundation for Cancer Research’s Kimmel Scholar Award and the V Foundation for Cancer Research’s V Scholar Award.

Each of this year’s Hettleman Prize recipients will lecture about their work during the academic year.

The Hettleman Prize was established in 1986 by the late Phillip Hettleman ’21 to recognize the achievements of outstanding junior tenure-track faculty or recently tenured faculty.

Share via: