Three Faculty Named To Science Association

Three UNC faculty members have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The association elects fellows to recognize their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

The three new fellows are Kenneth A. Jacobson and Terry R. Magnuson from the School of Medicine and Kenneth A. Bollen from the sociology department.

Jacobson, a professor in the department of cell and developmental biology, was honored by the association “for new insights into the domain structure of the living cell membrane and mechanisms of cell motility and for development of technologies to analyze these phenomena.” His work focuses on how cell membranes are organized and the physical principles of how cells move.

Magnuson, chair of the Department of Genetics and Sarah Graham Kenan professor and director of the Carolina Center for Genome Sciences, was recognized “for sustained and important contributions to mouse developmental genetics, including creating methodologies and strains for wide use, and identifying genes important for embryo development.” His work focuses on the role of certain mammal genes in genomic imprinting and X-chromosome inactivation and in tumor suppression.

Bollen is the H.R. Immerwahr Distinguished Professor of Sociology and director of the Odum Institute for Research in Social Science. The association cited him for his “important work on latent variable structural equation models and major contributions to liberal democracy studies and to social science measurement.” Bollen has helped develop statistical models for analyzing difficult-to-measure social science concepts such as socioeconomic status, and researched the determinants and measurement of political democracy.

The three are among 486 scientists awarded the honor this year.

Share via: