Five Alumni Will Join Trustees in July

Five seats on the UNC Board of Trustees will turn over in July.

Donald Curtis ’63 of Raleigh, chair and CEO of Curtis Media Group Inc.; Wade Hampton Hargrove ’62, a Raleigh lawyer who also earned his law degree from Carolina in 1965; and Felicia Washington ’87, a Charlotte lawyer, were appointed by the UNC System Board of Governors.

Curtis is first vice chair of the GAA Board of Directors, and Hargrove is a former GAA board member.

Eddie Smith Jr. ’65 of Grimesland, chair and CEO of Grady White Boats Inc.; and John Townsend III ’77 of Greenwich, Conn., retired advisory director for Goldman Sachs and Co. who also earned an MBA from UNC in 1982, were appointed to be trustees by Gov. Beverly Perdue.

The new members are scheduled to be sworn in at the board’s July 22 meeting.

The sixth new member, UNC senior Jasmin Jones, joined the board for its May meetings in the ex officio seat that goes to the student body president.

Outgoing members are Rusty Carter ’71, Paul Fulton ’57, Karol Mason ’79, Nelson Schwab ’67, Don Stallings ’60 and J.J. Raynor ’09.

Share via: