Nominations Sought for Teaching Awards

South Building. (Photo by Grant Halverson '93)

The annual teaching awards honor professors and graduate teaching assistants in a variety of categories. (Photo by Grant Halverson ’93)

The University Committee on Teaching Awards is seeking nominations from alumni, students, faculty and staff members for several campuswide awards that will honor professors and graduate teaching assistants in a variety of categories.

The committee, co-chaired by Teaching Associate Professor Viki Sathy in psychology and neuroscience and Teaching Professor Meredith Petschauer in exercise and sport science, will accept nominations through Oct. 1. All nominations should be submitted online at

The committee will review the nominees and make recommendations to Chancellor Carol L. Folt. This year, the committee will recommend recipients for six types of awards:

  • The Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching is given by the UNC System Board of Governors to a tenured faculty member on each UNC System campus, recognizing exceptional teaching at the undergraduate level over a sustained period.
  • Distinguished Teaching Awards for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction will go to four faculty members for exceptional teaching of post-baccalaureate students.
  • Eight awards will recognize full-time faculty members for excellence in undergraduate teaching: five Tanner Awards, one Friday Award and two Sitterson Awards.
  • Five Tanner Awards will recognize graduate teaching assistants for excellence in undergraduate teaching.
  • Three to four Chapman Family Teaching Awards are given to full-time faculty members for excellence in undergraduate teaching.
  • A Mentor Award for Lifetime Achievement acknowledges lifetime contributions to teaching, learning and mentoring beyond the classroom.

Each nomination must include a letter detailing why that teacher is being nominated; submissions that comprise only an individual’s name with no elaboration are unable to be considered. Lists of previous winners are available at No individual may receive more than one award each year.

Details about the awards and nominating forms are available at Questions can be directed to the committee co-chairs ( or or to Debbie Deese in the provost’s office (


Share via: