Carolina Alumni Awards Gala

An Evening Honoring Excellence

Friday, April 19
6:15 p.m. Cocktail reception, 7 p.m. Awards dinner
George Watts Hill Alumni Center
Semiformal / cocktail attire
Tickets: $80; Sponsor tables: $1,000

Get Tickets

Deadline to purchase tickets is 5 p.m. (EDT) on Friday, April 12.

Celebrate excellence with us at the inaugural Carolina Alumni Awards Gala, hosted by our Board of Directors. Experience the glamour as you walk the Carolina blue carpet, enjoying an evening filled with music, hors d’oeuvres, cocktails and dinner.

Be part of the celebration as we honor outstanding individuals with the Distinguished Service Medal, Distinguished Young Alumni Award and Faculty Service Award.

Interesting in sponsoring a table? Table sponsorship is $1,000 and seats eight. Proceeds from table sponsorships benefit our student programming initiatives. Please contact Tanea Pettis ’95, director of alumni programs, at or (919) 843-9694 to learn more.

2024 Carolina Alumni Award Recipients

Charles G. Duckett '82

Distinguished Service Medal

Charles “Chuck” Duckett ’82 served as a member of the UNC Board of Trustees from 2013 to 2021. Duckett is a partner at Battle & Associates and GRINS Enterprises, both in Winston-Salem.

Peter Hans '91

Distinguished Service Medal

Peter Hans ’91 has been president of the 16-member UNC System since August 2020. During his tenure, he has enacted policy reforms designed to broaden student access, boost affordability and expand student mental health services. Hans is a former president of the North Carolina Community Colleges System, and the State Board of Community Colleges and the UNC Board of Governors. He’s also served as senior policy advisor to three U.S. senators.

Janet Southerland '82 ('84 BSDH, '89 DDS, '94 MPH, '05 PHD)

Distinguished Service Medal

Janet Southerland ’82, (’84 BSDH, ’89 DDS, ’94 MPH, ’08 PhD) is the interim dean of LSU Health New Orleans School of Dentistry. She joined LSU Health New Orleans in 2022 as vice chancellor for academic affairs. Previously, she was a professor and dean of MeHarry School of Dentistry, and at UNC’s School of Dentistry, she was the chair of Hospital Dentistry, chief of Oral Medicine and director of the Hospital Dental Clinic.

Michael Bury '17 (MSN)

Distinguished Young Alumni Award

Michael Bury ’17 is a clinical assistant professor in UNC’s School of Nursing. His areas of clinical expertise include trauma, critical and outpatient lung transplant care. Bury is the faculty adviser for the UNC Association of Nursing Students and Aspiring Critical Care Nurses student interest group. An officer in the U.S. Navy Reserve Nurse Corps, he was deployed to a New York City hospital in the epicenter of the COVID-19 pandemic in early April 2020.

Eric Garcia '14

Distinguished Young Alumni Award

Eric Garcia ’14 is a journalist based in Washington, D.C., who has served as an assistant editor for The Washington Post’s Outlook section and as an associate editor at The Hill. He has been a correspondent for National Journal, MarketWatch and Roll Call and has written for The Daily Beast, The New Republic and He hopes his latest book, “We’re Not Broken: Changing the Autism Conversation,” will dispel misconceptions about people with autism.

Angela Kashuba

Faculty Service Award

Angela Kashuba is the dean of the Eshelman School of Pharmacy. She was named the John and Deborah McNeill Jr. Distinguished Professor in 2013 and also served as chair of the Division of Pharmacotherapy and Experimental Therapeutics from 2015 to 2019, when she became dean. Kashuba is also director the UNC Center for AIDS Research Clinical Pharmacology and Analytical Chemistry Core.

Gary Koch '68 (PhD)

Faculty Service Award

Gary Koch ’68 has served on UNC’s faculty since 1968 and is a professor of biostatistics and Director of the Biometric Consulting Laboratory. His principal research interest is the development of statistical methodology for the analysis of categorical data and its corresponding applications to a wide range of settings in the health sciences. He is a member of the editorial boards for Statistics in Medicine and The Journal of Biopharmaceutical Statistics.

Previous Carolina Alumni Award Recipients 

Each year Carolina Alumni awards the Distinguished Service Medal, Distinguished Young Alumni Award and the Faculty Service Award to those who have gone above and beyond in their service to the University. View past winners:

Points of Contact

Tanea Pettis '95
Director of Alumni Programs
read my bio

Tanea has been a member of the Carolina Alumni staff since 1998. She currently serves as director of alumni programs overseeing the Light on the Hill Society Scholarship, athletics, Carolina Clubs, Homecoming, outreach and reunions. She’s a dedicated member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., carries her NOOK with her wherever she goes and has a large collection of Coca-Cola bottles from across the world in her office.

Rachel Welch
Accounting Assistant
read my bio

Rachel has worked in the business office since 2014. She loves to cook up culinary creations for her boys (including her husband Jeff). During spring and summer evenings, you can find her in the bleachers at a baseball game.