Three Alumni Among N.C. Journalism Hall of Fame Inductees

Two graduates from the Hussman School of Journalism and Media and a former Carolina men’s basketball standout and two-time NBA champion are among this year’s inductees into the N.C. Media & Journalism Hall of Fame.

Curry Kirkpatrick ’65 spent 27 years at Sports Illustrated as a senior writer specializing in coverage of college basketball and tennis, and J.J. Miller ’94 is a digital entertainment and news media executive. Joining them will be Kenny Smith ’87, an All-American guard for the Tar Heels, and an Emmy-winning sports analyst and long-time member of TNT’s Inside the NBA show.

Other 2023 inductees include Robert J. Brown, founder, chairman and CEO of B&C Associates Inc., a management consulting, market research and public relations firm headquartered in High Point; David Crabtree, CEO and general manager of PBS North Carolina, and a former long-time anchor and reporter at WRAL in Raleigh; and Janet Northen, executive vice president and director of agency communications at McKinney, which was a finalist for the 2022 Adweek Midsized Agency of the Year and named to the Ad Age 2021 A-List as a standout agency.

The N.C. Media & Journalism Hall of Fame recognizes diverse individuals and exceptional leaders with ties to North Carolina who demonstrate leadership and exemplify the highest professional standards and commitment to inspiring and advancing young people in media and journalism careers. Each year’s Hall of Fame nominees are reviewed by a committee of faculty and professionals.

The annual banquet will be held on April 21 at the Carolina Inn.

The event will be moderated by Rochelle Riley ’81, a UNC journalism school graduate and 2019 Hall of Fame inductee.

Since its founding in 1981, the Hall of Fame has recognized more than 200 professionals in advertising, journalism, public relations and related fields.

For more information about this year’s event, visit the N.C. Media and Journalism Hall of Fame website.

Share via: