Carolina Honors 24 With Teaching Awards

“Brilliant!” “Generous.” “Charismatic!” “Indispensable.” These are a few of the descriptions students and colleagues have used to describe the 2012 University Teaching Awards recipients.

Twenty-four people in nine categories are receiving this year’s award, the highest campuswide recognition for teaching excellence. The winners were recognized during halftime of the Carolina-Virginia men’s basketball game on Feb. 12, and a banquet will be held at The Carolina Club on April 26 to present the awards and further honor the winners.

The Distinguished Teaching Awards for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction are given to four faculty members to honor exceptional teaching of post-baccalaureate students. This year’s recipients are:

  • Jon Hacke ’80 (’81 MA), assistant professor, department of allied health sciences-physical therapy in the School of Medicine;
  • Oswaldo Estrada, assistant professor, department of Romance languages;
  • Carole Blair, professor, department of communication studies; and
  • Randall Styers, associate professor, department of religious studies.

The Tanner Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching are given to five faculty members in recognition of excellence in undergraduate teaching. This year’s awards go to:

  • Lisa Woodley, clinical assistant professor, School of Nursing;
  • Nasser Isleem, lecturer in Arabic, department of Asian studies;
  • Daniel Cobb, associate professor, department of Indian studies;
  • Reginald Hildebrand, associate professor, department of African and Afro-American studies; and
  • Eric Youngstrom, professor, department of psychology.

The Mentor Award for Lifetime Achievement acknowledges longtime contributions to teaching, learning and mentoring beyond the classroom. Jean DeSaix ’69 (MS, ’78 PhD), senior lecturer, department of biology, is this year’s recipient.

The Chapman Family Teaching Awards are given to full-time faculty members for excellence in undergraduate teaching. The 2012 winners are:

  • Jim Ketch, professor, department of music;
  • Patrick Curran, professor, department of psychology; and
  • Jennifer Ho, associate professor, department of English and comparative literature.

The J. Carlyle Sitterson Freshman Teaching Awards are given to individuals who exemplify excellence in teaching first-year students. This year’s winners are:

  • Miguel LaSerna, assistant professor, department of history, and
  • Mark Peifer, Michael Hooker Distinguished professor, department of biology.

The William C. Friday Award for Excellence in Teaching goes to an individual who demonstrates excellence in inspirational teaching. The 2012 recipient is Lawrence Rosenfeld, professor, department of communication studies.

The Johnston Teaching Excellence Award is given to two faculty members for excellence in undergraduate teaching. Recipients this year are:

  • Donald Hornstein, Aubrey L. Brooks Professor of law, School of Law; and
  • Julie Fishell ’98 (MFA), senior lecturer, department of dramatic art.

The Tanner Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching by Graduate Teaching Assistants recognize the accomplishments of five graduate teaching assistants. Winners are:

  • Susan Cohen, Kenan-Flagler Business School;
  • Anthony Diercks, economics;
  • Jason Combs, religious studies;
  • James Sias, philosophy; and
  • Kristjen Lundberg, psychology.

This year’s nominee for the UNC System Board of Governors’ Award for Excellence in Teaching is Linda Spremulli, professor, department of chemistry. This award is given to a tenured faculty member on each campus of the UNC System for exceptional undergraduate teaching over a sustained period of time.

More online…

Share via: