Faculty, Assistants Honored With 21 Teaching Awards

The University has selected recipients of the 2010 teaching awards, the highest campuswide recognition for teaching excellence.

The Tanner Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching go to five faculty members and carry a $7,500 stipend. This year’s recipients are:

  • Claudio Battaglini, exercise and sport science;
  • Robert Cantwell, American studies;
  • Brian Hogan ’03, chemistry;
  • Elizabeth Jordan, psychology; and
  • Greg Gangi ’99 (PhD), Institute for the Environment.

The Tanner Award was created in 1952 with a bequest by Kenneth Spencer Tanner ’11 and his sister, Sara Tanner Crawford, to establish an endowment fund in memory of their parents, Lola Spencer and Simpson Bobo Tanner. In 1990, the University expanded the scope of the Tanner Awards to recognize excellence in the teaching of undergraduates by graduate teaching assistants as well.

The Tanner Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching by Graduate Teaching Assistants are given to five graduate assistant teachers and carry a $5,000 stipend. The recipients this year are:

  • Stacey Treat ’09, communication studies;
  • Ben White, religious studies;
  • Pablo Maurette, Spanish;
  • Dustin Long, biostatistics; and
  • Andrew Pennock ’07 (MA), political science.

Donald Hornstein, on the law school’s faculty, received the William C. Friday/Class of 1986 Award for Excellence in Teaching, which honors one faculty member and includes a stipend of $5,000. Hornstein, who several times has received the law school’s McCall Award, was recognized with the Friday Award for a course he teaches on the environment; it is taken by several hundred undergraduate students, many of whom nominated him for the award.

The Friday Award was created by members of the 1986 graduating class to recognize members of the faculty who have exemplified excellence in inspirational teaching and is named in honor of William C. Friday ’48 (LLB), who is president emeritus of the UNC System.

Omid Safi, of religious studies, received the J. Carlyle Sitterson Freshman Teaching Award, which goes to a faculty member teaching first-year students and carries a $5,000 stipend.

The award was created in 1998 by the family of the late J. Carlyle Sitterson ’31 to recognize excellence in freshman teaching by a tenured or tenure-track faculty member in the College of Arts and Sciences. Sitterson was a Kenan Professor of history and served as chancellor from 1966 to 1972.

The Distinguished Teaching Awards for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction goes to four faculty members and carry a stipend of $5,000. The recipients this year are:

  • Shenyang Guo, School of Social Work;
  • Edward Kernick ’00, School of Medicine;
  • Thomas Hill, philosophy; and
  • Robert MacCallum, psychology.

The award was first given by the University in 1995.

Elizabeth Gibson ’76 (JD), Burton Craig Professor of law, received the Mentor Award for Lifetime Achievement, which acknowledges “teaching beyond the classroom.” Created in 1997, the award carries a one-time stipend of $1,000. Gibson is a former member of the GAA Board of Directors.

The Johnston Teaching Excellence Awards go to faculty members for excellence in undergraduate teaching. Recipients receive $5,000. The winners for 2010 are:

  • Daniel Wallace ’08, English; and
  • Albert K. Harris, biology.

Created in 1991, the award is funded by the James M. Johnston Scholarship Program, which provides need-based scholarships to the University.

Michael Lienesch, political science, received the University Professor of Distinguished Teaching Award. This three-year term professorship with a stipend of $3,000 per year has been established to recognize a career of excellence in teaching.

This year’s Carolina nominee for the UNC System Board of Governors’ Award for Excellence in Teaching is Rachel Willis of American studies. Established by the BOG in 1994, the award carries a stipend of $7,500. One recipient is selected by each of the 16 constituent institutions of the UNC System. The UNC recipient also is the University’s nominee for the CASE U.S. Professors of the Year competition, a national award for outstanding undergraduate teaching.

The University Committee on Teaching Awards, affiliated with the Office of the Provost, reviews nominees, collects additional information and recommends winners to the chancellor for seven of the nine award categories. Nominations for the awards can be submitted by Carolina faculty and students.

More online…

Share via: