GAA Installs New Board Members

Dwight M. Davidson III ’77 was installed as chair of the GAA Board of Directors at the Annual Alumni Luncheon on May 12, succeeding Tom Efird ’61 of Gastonia. Randy K. Jones ’79 of Chula Vista, Calif., assumed office as chair-elect.

Davidson, who is president of Engineered Plastics Inc., a manufacturing firm based in Gibsonville, has served the board at various times since 1988 in several capacities, including as first vice chair and assistant treasurer.

Jones, who received a law degree from UNC in ’82, is an assistant U.S. attorney and has served on the GAA board since 2003. He is a past member of the UNC Board of Visitors and was recognized in 1998 with the GAA’s Distinguished Young Alumnus Award and in 2006 with the Harvey Beech Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Davidson was elected last year as chair-elect by the Board of Directors, and Jones was elected this year by the board as chair-elect for 2007-08. As a result of elections decided by Carolina Alumni members as of March 30, Efird announced that William G. “Bill” Daughtridge Jr. ’75 of Rocky Mount is the board’s first vice chair and that Dr. Joseph M. “Buddy” Jenrette III ’73 is second vice chair.

Daughtridge, who received his MBA from UNC in ’77, is president of Daughtridge Gas and Oil Co. and is a member of the N.C. House, where he represents Nash County and serves as co-chair for the N.C. House Commerce Committee. Jenrette is chairman of the department of radiation oncology at the Medical University of South Carolina, where he also is a professor.

New directors elected to three-year terms representing N.C. districts are:

  • Sarah Hester Mayo ’85 of Greenville. Mayo is chief financial officer of Lenoir Memorial Hospital and serves as a member of the Morehead Scholarship regional selection committee.
  • Dr. Dan Allen Myers ’71 of Kinston. Myers, who earned his medical degree from UNC in ’75, is president and director of Sonorex Inc. and Sonorex Therapy Centers of Canada.
  • Judy Allen Vinroot ’65 of Charlotte. Vinroot retired as an instructor at Central Piedmont Community College. She is a past president of the Mecklenburg County Carolina Club and has served on the Morehead Scholarship regional selection committee.
  • W. Hampton “Hamp” Lefler Jr. ’59 of Hickory. Lefler is an ophthalmologist who retired from Graystone Ophthalmology Associates Inc. He was a UNC class agent for 13 years for the class of 1959.

New directors elected to three-year terms representing out-of-state alumni are:

  • Michael Joseph Egan ’78 of Atlanta. Egan, a lawyer, is a senior partner with King & Spalding LLP.
  • Marjorie Julian Spruill ’73 of Columbia, S.C. Spruill is a professor of history at the University of South Carolina and a Hrdy Fellow of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard.
  • S. Thompson Tygart ’62 of Jacksonville, Fla. Tygart is a lawyer and a full-time mediator. He has served on the UNC Board of Visitors and the Rams Club board of directors. He is a member of the Carolina First steering committee and the UNC Arts and Sciences board of directors.

The new director elected to a three-year term on UNC’s Athletic Council is:

  • Jason F. Stanicek ’95 of Raleigh. Stanicek is vice president and financial adviser of CAPTRUST Financial Advisors. He was a team captain and an MVP on the men’s football team at UNC, where he broke the record held by Charlie “Choo Choo” Justice ’50 for total offense.

Appointed as at-large directors for three-year terms are:

  • James Randolph “Jim” Zook Jr. ’87 of Atlanta. Zook is a principal at Mercer Human Resource Consulting. He was editor of The Daily Tar Heel and has written for a number of publications, including as a contributor to the Carolina Alumni Review.
  • Kraig J. Holt ’82 of Charlotte. Holt, who received his MBA from Carolina in ’84, is a software sales executive for IBM. He has served on the Board of Visitors, and he is a co-chair of the Black Alumni of Charlotte Carolina Club.

>English Professor Trudier Harris was appointed the faculty representative on the board. Harris, the J. Carlyle Sitterson Professor of English, has taught at UNC since 1979 and has been recognized with several awards, including the UNC System Board of Governors’ Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Reappointed to their posts were William P. Aycock II ’65 of Greensboro, counsel to the board, and N.C. Sen. Anthony Eden Rand ’61 of Fayetteville, treasurer.

Share via: