Hargrove to Chair Search Committee for New Chancellor

Wade Hargrove.

Wade Hargrove

Wade Hargrove ’62, chair of the UNC Board of Trustees, will chair the search committee to recommend a successor to Chancellor Holden Thorp ’86.

Hargrove, who was re-elected to a second term as chair in July, said the committee represents the board, students, faculty, staff, alumni and the community. It will recommend a slate of finalists to the full board, which vote on recommending candidates to UNC System President Tom Ross ’75 (JD). Ross, in turn, will recommend a candidate to the system’s Board of Governors, which elects the new chancellor.

Ross will give the committee its charge at its first organizational meeting, on Friday, Oct. 5.

“We are launching a national search to identify the most qualified person to lead the University,” Hargrove said. “This is a challenging time for the University and public higher education in general, and our goal is to build upon the University’s 200-plus years of academic excellence.”

Thorp plans to step down June 30 and take a research leave to prepare to resume his research and teaching in the chemistry department.

Hargrove said the search committee planned to hold public forums to provide campus community members, alumni and the public with opportunities to share the characteristics they hope to see in the next chancellor. The University soon will launch a website — — to inform the Carolina community and public about the committee’s work.

Serving as vice chairs of the search committee are trustees Barbara Hyde ’83 of Memphis, current vice chair of the board; and Felicia Washington ’87 of Charlotte. Hargrove is from Raleigh.

Other members are:

  • John Townsend III ’77 (’82 MBA), a trustee of Greenwich, Conn.;
  • Donald Curtis ’63, a trustee, of Raleigh;
  • Roger Perry ’71, a former trustee, of Chapel Hill;
  • Will Leimenstoll of Greensboro, the student body president and, because of that position, serves on the Board of Trustees;
  • Michael Bertucci of Durham, a doctoral student in chemistry and president of the Graduate and Professional Student Federation;
  • Jan Boxill of Chapel Hill, faculty chair;
  • Valerie Ashby ’88 (’94 PhD) of Durham, chair of the chemistry department;
  • Kevin M. Guskiewicz of Chapel Hill, chair of the department of exercise and sport science;
  • John McGowan of Chapel Hill, professor of English and comparative literature;
  • Cam Patterson ’08 (MBA) of Chapel Hill, professor of cardiovascular medicine;
  • Douglas Shackelford ’80 of Chapel Hill, professor in the Kenan-Flagler Business School;
  • Jackie Overton ’85 (’89 MEd) of Chapel Hill, chair of the Employee Forum;
  • Dwayne Pinkney ’01 (PhD) of Cary, vice provost for finance and academic planning;
  • Kenneth Broun of Chapel Hill, former Chapel Hill mayor and professor emeritus of law and dean of the law school;
  • Eric Montross ’94 of Chapel Hill, chair of the GAA’s Board of Directors;
  • Chuck Lovelace ’77 (’79 MBA) of Chapel Hill, executive director of the Morehead-Cain Foundation;
  • Dwight Stone ’73 of Greensboro, chair of the Educational Foundation Inc.’s board of directors; and
  • Richard Vinroot ’63 (’66 LLB) of Charlotte, former Charlotte mayor.

More online…

Share via: