New Faculty Chair Comes From School of Social Work

Mimi Chapman ’97 (PhD), professor of social work and associate dean for doctoral education in UNC’s School of Social Work, will succeed Lloyd Kramer as chair of the faculty on July 1. (UNC/Jon Gardiner ’98)

Carolina’s faculty have elected Mimi Chapman ’97 (PhD) to be chair of the faculty for the next three years. She will succeed history Professor Lloyd Kramer on July 1.

Chapman is a professor of social work and associate dean for doctoral education in UNC’s School of Social Work. She is noted for working to reduce health, mental health and educational disparities for marginalized populations, applying her experience in health care and her collaborations with school systems, immigrant communities and health care professionals.

Chapman’s research uses arts-based approaches to combat implicit and explicit bias, often using pictures and performances to stimulate personal reflection, empathy and systems change. She has received research funding from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the National Institutes of Health, among others.

Her bachelor’s degree from Baylor is in journalism and American studies. She received a master’s in social work from the University of Texas at Austin before coming to UNC for her doctorate.

“In the midst of a national crisis to which we do not have an end date, my priority is to make sure that the faculty has all relevant information about how the University is functioning, what decision-making processes are in place and to promote the faculty voice in those decisions,” Chapman said. “As we learn more about what our ‘new normal’ will look like, we need to keep pushing to reconcile Carolina’s past with the vision we have for Carolina’s future.”

She listed the three top priorities facing the faculty as supporting efforts to stay connected and united as a faculty, confronting the impact of economic uncertainty on faculty, and promoting faculty leadership in the wider society.

Kramer, who joined the history faculty at UNC 33 years ago, also is director of Carolina Public Humanities, is a past faculty representative on the GAA Board of Directors and received the GAA’s Faculty Service Award in 2018.


Share via: