Three New Trustees Set to Join Board

The UNC Board of Trustees is expected to have three new members on July 1.

Charles G. Duckett ’82 of Winston-Salem, Dwight D. Stone ’73 of Greensboro and Jeff Brown ’81 of Charlotte have been elected to be trustees by the UNC System Board of Governors. These are contingent on submission of a statement of economic interest and vetting by the State Ethics Board.

Donald W. Curtis ’63 of Raleigh has been reappointed by the BOG. Curtis, a past chair of the General Alumni Association, has been a trustee since 2009.

Chair Wade Hargrove ’62, who also earned his law degree from UNC in 1965, and trustees Barbara Hyde ’83 and Felicia Washington ’87 were not reappointed.

The BOG chooses eight members of the 13-member board; the governor chooses four. The 13th is the ex officio president of the student body.

Two of the governor’s four spots are to be decided this year. Those seats have been held by Kel Landis ’79 and John Townsend III ’77. Both Landis and Townsend also earned MBA degrees from UNC in 1982. It is uncertain when Gov. Pat McCrory will make those decisions.

More online…

Share via: