March 7, 2019
The most picturesque spot on campus will be kind of hard on your camera for most of March, but it should be back to beautiful with the start of spring and the coming deluge of...Read More
Feb. 22, 2019
Its new owners are planning major renovations and development at University Place mall, a longtime commercial hub for Chapel Hill. Ram Realty Advisors — which bought the 40-acre property from Madison Marquette at the end...Read More
After years of debate about the fate of West House – a 1,141-square-foot structure that had straddled the parking lots behind Swain Hall and Hill Hall – the building is being torn down to make way for the University’s new Arts Common
The demolition work began on Thursday, Aug. 17, and is expected to continue into next week.
West House had been in the footprint of a planned 80,000-square-foot music building, which will face Cameron Avenue as the centerpiece of the Arts Common.
The one-story brick building was built in 1935 by Rutherfordton textile magnate Kenneth Tanner ’11 to house his sons when they entered the University.
For a building that may not have quite rated “campus landmark,” tiny West House generated a lot of emotion after a member of the University staff launched a campaign to try to save it.
Over the years, West House had been used for military training in World War II, as the first home of the computer science department and as the home of the Institute for the Arts and Humanities.
Related coverage is available online: