Feb. 18, 2021
Undergraduate students from outside North Carolina will pay $684 more in tuition next year. For a fifth straight year, in-state students will see no increase. The 2021-22 tuition and fees schedules approved by the UNC...Read More
Nov. 13, 2020
Tuition will go up 2 percent — $684 for out-of-state undergraduates and $566 for nonresident graduate students — in fall 2021 if the UNC System Board of Governors approves actions taken Thursday by the UNC...Read More
Feb. 11, 2019
The endowed fund will benefit dependents through the Carolina Covenant. When Army Maj. Bernard W. Dibbert deployed to Vietnam in 1965, he sent cassette tapes home to his wife, Ann, and five sons in Fayetteville....Read More
Small tuition increases for out-of-state students were approved Nov. 16 by UNC’s trustees.
A $600 annual increase for new students enrolling in fall 2018 brings the total for tuition and fees to $35,188. Returning out-of-state students would pay a $300 increase, $34,888.
The changes are subject to approval by the UNC System Board of Governors.
Tuition would remain at $9,004 for in-state students.
The total includes a 5 percent increase in the student health fees and increases of less than 3 percent each on four other fees — campus recreation, Carolina Union operating costs, student child care and the cost of running Carolina Performing Arts.
Including a $300 increase in tuition and fees for graduate students, the change is expected to raise nearly $4 million in additional revenues for academic programs, faculty recruitment and retention, and graduate student support.
In summer 2016, the N.C. General Assembly enacted a law to remove some of the uncertainty in college costs, with the rate students pay as incoming freshmen being frozen for four years. The provision covers North Carolina residents only; it does not affect out-of-state students or graduate and professional students. The law had two main goals: remove unpredictability and incent students to complete college in four years. Under it, those who take longer than four years without extenuating circumstances face financial penalties.