William R. Davie Dinner

Point of Contact

Jack Ahern
Coordinator of Alumni Networking and Outreach
read my bio

Jack joined the GAA in January 2018 and focuses on club scholarships, career services and outreach. He loves connecting people and helping them reach their goals. In his free time, Jack enjoys running while listening to his favorite Dungeons and Dragons or bad movie podcasts. Jack is also on an epic quest to find N.C.’s best cheeseburger.

Founded in 1994 by a group of Charlotte alumni, the William R. Davie Dinner offered an opportunity for Tar Heels to share fond memories of their time in Chapel Hill and hear from a notable speaker with ties to the University.

Since its inception, net proceeds from the event have been given to the Charlotte Carolina Club Scholarship Fund to support current UNC students from the Charlotte area. This tradition has continued to the present day.

Past William R. Davie Dinner Speakers

Kevin Guskiewicz 2018
Phil Ford ’78 2017
Margaret Spellings 2016
Bubba Cunningham 2015
Carol Folt 2014
Dr. Richard Vinroot ’94, ’04 (MD/PhD) 2013
Tom Ross ’75 (JD) 2012
Rye Barcott ’01 2010
Erskine Bowles ’67 2009
Holden Thorp ’86 2008
Charles E. Lovelace ’77, ’79 (MBA) 2007
Dr. Harry Watson 2006
Laszlo Birinyi, Jr. ’67 2005
Bill Friday ’48 (LLB) &
Hugh Morton ’43
Suzn Head ’75 2003
Roy A. Cooper ’79, ’82 JD 2002
Ken Thompson ’73 2001
James Moeser 2000
Woody Durham ’63 1999
Molly Broad 1997
David Brinkley 1996
Terry Sanford ’39 ’46 (JD) 1995
C.D. Spangler ’54 1994

Davie Dinner Committee

David Keesler ’84 – Co-chair
Sarah Parrott Lathrop ’90 – Co-chair
Eric J. Locher ’78 (’82 MBA) – Honorary Chair

Lanier Brown May
Matthew Means ’05
Brandon Neal ’05
Kerbie Neal ’05
Shayna Putterman ’13
Angela Robbins ’84
Kristy Brown Thompson ’89
Stick Williams ’75
Teresa Holland Williams ’77
Brian Zito ’02 – Co-chair, Charlotte Carolina Club