2023 Award Recipients

Celebrating Black Excellence

Congratulations to our 2023 Black Alumni Reunion Award recipients.

The Harvey E. Beech Outstanding Alumni Award recognizes outstanding black alumni who have been stellar leaders within the University community and/or within their local community. This award has two (2) potential categories: Young Alumni (age 40 and under) and Overall Achievement (no class or age requirement).

The Hortense K. McClinton Outstanding Faculty Staff Award honors a faculty or staff member, past or present, who has made outstanding contributions to the Carolina community.  The nominee does not have to be an alumnus.

The Harvey E. Beech Outstanding Senior Award recognizes an Black graduating senior who exemplifies a strong academic record, excellent leadership ability, positive community service/volunteer work and a demonstrated desire to strengthen the bond between current students and alumni (announced during the Student Alumni Dinner).

2024 Nominations 

Process opens spring 2024.